Blog Tour– Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

Posted April 10, 2022 by stuckint in Blog Tours / 1 Comment

Hi everyone and welcome to my tour stop for Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah Price hosted through TBR and Beyond Your. I’m so excited to share a full spoiler free review as part of my tour stop.

You can find the full schedule here.

About the Book

Blog Tour– Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah PriceSense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price
Published by HarperTeen on April 5, 2022
Pages: 416
Goodreads

In this second book of the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, Tirzah Price takes readers for another fun, murderous romp through one of Austen’s beloved novels. Perfect for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper.
When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.
But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery: a suspicious substance in their father’s teacup—one that can only be described as poison. And poison, as Marianne’s father taught her, always points to murder.
It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.
Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre.” —Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

About the Author

Tirzah Price grew up on a farm in Michigan, where she read every book she could get her hands on and never outgrew her love for YA fiction. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and is a former bookseller and librarian. Now, she’s a contributing editor at Book Riot, where she can be found recommending books on the site, newsletters, podcasts, and social media accounts. When she’s not writing, reading, or thinking about YA books, she splits her time between experimenting in the kitchen and knitting enough socks to last the fierce Michigan winters.

Tirzah is pronounced TEER-zuh. Pronouns are she/her.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

My Thoughts

I am endlessly intrigued by the Jane Austen retellings that are taking the literary world by storm- especially where YA is concerned. Austen’s classics are delightful fodder for a reimagining and I have loved what Price has done with Pride and Prejudice and now Sense and Sensibility as well.

Jane Austen’s work was one of my first loves. Some of my fondest memories are watching the BBC adaptations with my maternal grandmother. While I fell hard for the movies initially, Austen’s books opened me up to the world of classics. With such a long preamble it might surprise you that I must admit I have never actually read Sense and Sensibility. I have always intended to, but I just never got around to it.

Howrver, I do not think that shortcoming detracted from my enjoyment of Sense and Second Degree Murder. While Price retelling shares a handful of commonalities, Price breaths new life into the tale of female ambition and what it means to be perfectly matched.

I will not bore you with the plot- you can read the synopsis for that- but what I adore most about these retellings is the murder mystery aspect and the intrepid heroines determined to solve the case and catch the killer.

Price tackles issues of gender equality, classicism, and societal expectations with wit and a dry humor that I greatly enjoyed. If I had one complaint it would be that the male characters were not that fleshed out, but it’s a minor quibble.

Overall, I gave Sense and Second Degree Murder 4⭐ and would recommend it to amy die hard Jane Austen fan or any lovers of murder mysteries with plucky protagonists.

What About You?

Have you read Sense and Second Degree Murder? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!

One response to “Blog Tour– Sense and Second Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

  1. Deanna

    I loved Pride and Premeditation, and this blog post reminded me to order Sense and Second Degree Murder!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.