What’s In The Box!– Literati February 2021

Posted March 21, 2021 by stuckint in Book Subscriptions, Literati / 0 Comments

Good morning everyone. I hope you are all having a nice weekend. Today, I wanted to share my unboxing of the Literati Titan YA box. It’s a recent addition to the plethora of different boxes that they offer and as a lover of YA, I could not resist trying it.

How It Works: Each box is curated by the Literati team. This particular box contains five books– which are a surprise. Every month there is also a beautiful print and some other swag item unique to each month. .

You are given a week to decide which books you want to keep. You can also keep all of them if you want and that gives you a 10% discount on the entire box.

Literati sends prepaid postage with the box so that you can send your box, no cost to you.

You can order a new box monthly, quarterly, or whenever you want.

You can find out more about the box here.

Also, enjoy a discount code here!

The Swag

This month’s box included a beautiful art print that I am hopping to frame to hang up in my home library.

The extra item was a bookmark and adorable personalized stickers. The items were all great quality and I cannot wait to see what else they include in future boxes.

The Books

Fresh Ink: An Anthology by Lamar Files (Paperback)

This anthology has a powerhouse line up of authors writing stories that deal with hard issues like gentrification, LGBTQIA+ issues, poverty, and loss. The stories also vary widely in terms of genre from realistic contemporary to romance. I actually read this one in the week I was given to decide whether I wanted to keep it. I recommend this short little anthology to anyone wanting to diversify their reading and those hoping to discover some new authors.

Pride by Ibi Zoboi (Paperback)

This contemporary Pride and Prejudice retelling is perfect for any fans of Jane Austen’s classic. This reimagining features Zuri and Darius who must navigate the complexities of class divides and the reality of gentrification while maybe, just maybe, falling in love. Since I own a hardcover copy of this one, I did not keep the paperback copy Literati sent me, but I am super excited that they are sending me books like this!

The Opposite of Always by Justin Reynolds (Paperback)

This ownvoices contemporary was a great choice, even if I’ve already read it. With elements of time travel, Opposite of Always tackles issues of grief and loss as well as what we are willing to do for the ones we love. While I didn’t keep this one, I highly recommend it for fans of Angie Thomas and Becky Albertalli.

I Killed Zoe Spanish by Kit Frick

This beautiful book with its bright blue sprayed edges was a delight to find in this box. I have heard amazing things about this book and this edition is gorgeous. This murder mystery features Anna who is accused of murdering Zoe Spanos and Martina, who is determined to uncover the truth, both for her true crime podcast and because some thing just doesn’t feel right. If you can’t tell from my gushing, I definitely kept this one for my home library.

The Left Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

i have heard of Garth Nix but never actually read any of his books and I am stoked about this particular title. Not only is the cover gorgeous but it rings a lot of my wheelhouse bells including magic that bleeds into our world, enchanted books, and found family. I did keep this one for my collection because I didn’t already own it and I loved the cover.

Overall Impressions

I loved this box and I cannot wait for the next one to arrive. I have never gotten a subscription box where I’m surprised by the books so it’s a new thing for me. Overall, I think it’s a great box for any YA lover. The picks are diverse and from what I can tell, they take any feedback you give them about the selection seriously. I will definitely share my next unboxing when I get it in a few weeks!

What About You?

Do you think you’ll try Literati? Do you get any other subscription boxes? What did you think of my unboxing? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.