Blog Tour– What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo

Posted February 4, 2021 by stuckint in Blog Tours / 3 Comments

Hello everyone and welcome to my stop for What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo hosted through Xpresso Book Tours. I am thrilled to share my thoughts regarding Zsabo’s debut because I absolutely loved it.

What Big Teeth
Rose Szabo
Published by: Farrar Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication date: February 2nd 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Gothic, Young Adult

Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut What Big Teeth is a dark, gothic fantasy YA novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together. In order to save them all Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce paranormal fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play


Author Bio:

Rose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, where they live with an assortment of people and animals and teach writing at VCU. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel.


GIVEAWAYS!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

My Thoughts

What Big Teeth is an urban fantasy that warmed my werewolf loving heart with eerie atmosphere and weird, winding plot.

Some might complain of the pacing, and this book is indeed slow, but I was not bothered by that. In fact, I loved the meandering pace and the confusion that ensued as the reader was left to figure out what was happening and why alongside Eleanor’s character. I enjoyed the mystery surrounding the Zarren family and Eleanor herself.

Speaking of Eleanor, she was a flawed and seemingly ostracized character and I adored her. The relationships, or lack of relationships, which she has with each of her family member was incredibly fascinating to me. She always struggled to belong and love was not a given.

In short, I adored this book and gave it 5?

What About You?

Have you read What Big Teeth? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

3 responses to “Blog Tour– What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo

    • stuckint

      I hated the ending of Wilder Girls. For what it’s worth, I didn’t feel like this one was anything like Wilder Girls. What Big Teeth is a slow burn character study featuring wolfnshape shifters and witches. Its weird like Wilder Girls, but I personally think that the extent of the similarities.

      Thank you so much! I love my header and am always thrilled to learn others love it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.