Blog Tour– Defy the Sun by Jessika Fleck

Posted March 13, 2020 by stuckint in Blog Tours / 1 Comment

Happy Friday everyone we are stoked to participate in the Defy the Sun promotional blog tour with Xpresso Book Tours.

As part of our stop on the tour we are sharing a full, spojler-free review. As always, share your thoughts in the comments and purchase your copy of Defy the Sun wherever books are sold!

About the Book

Blog Tour– Defy the Sun by Jessika FleckDefy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2) by Jessika Fleck
Published by Swoon Reads on March 10, 2020
Pages: 304
Goodreads
three-stars

Civil war has come to the island of Bellona. Veda Adeline believes in the Night. She’s joined the underground revolutionaries, led by Dorian Winters, and they're determined to overthrow the ruling Imperi and find justice for her people.
Nico Denali, Veda’s childhood friend and maybe-something-more, is one of those ruling Imperi, and he’s just been named heir to the most powerful man above ground.
As the war intensifies, Veda and Nico are leveraged against each other: Veda is above as a hostage of the Imperi and Nico is below, taken by the Night. There's no way Dorian is letting such a valuable hostage go.
The island will burn unless Veda and Nico can come together to rip everything apart. But Nico and Dorian will never trust each other, and Veda's heart might be the biggest casualty.
The stakes are all or nothing in this second and final book in the BEWARE THE NIGHT duology.

About the Author

Jessika Fleck is an author, unapologetic coffee drinker, and knitter — she sincerely hopes to one day discover a way to do all three at once. Until then, she continues collecting vintage typewriters and hourglasses, dreaming of an Ireland getaway, and convincing her husband they NEED more kittens. Her YA debut, THE CASTAWAYS (Entangled TEEN), is now available. Her next YA novel, BEWARE THE NIGHT (Swoon Reads/Macmillan) releases March 12, 2019. More at www.jessikafleck.com

Our Thoughts

In the thrilling follow up to Jessika Fleck’s YA Dystopian Romance: Beware the Night, Veda must once again come face to face with the corrupt government that has ruled her island for so long in the hopes of sparking some sort of revolution to liberate them all.

Of course revolution comes at a cost and as many characters play their way across the political chess board lives are lost and new friends made. Fleck weaves a story rich in mythology and culture and while the romance was a little heavy handed for my taste, the world is immersive and interesting.

Told from alternating POVs between Veda and Nico, there was a lot of potential for suspense that I don’t think was ever fully realized. Frequently, even as characters were on the run or organizing an attack I never felt moved to really care what was happening

It was also super heavy handed on the tropes which is fine but I just felt like by the end, combined with some very one dimensional characters, I was rather apathetic to the plot no matter how dire the situations were on the page

Ultimately, I gave 3/5 stars because while it was just an okay read for me, I know some people will really like this book. I just don’t think I’m the right audience. I would definitely recommend it for fans of Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy.

Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What About You?

Have you read this duology? If so, what did you think? Do you agree with our review? Let us know in the comments!

One response to “Blog Tour– Defy the Sun by Jessika Fleck

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.